Real Poetry

reviews, tips, and personal/local writing

My Poetry – Ingenuity

Another entry from my own poetry.  With the semester starting up I may begin to struggle to keep up with reviews, but I’m going to try and have one up every Tuesday.  I’ll try to keep up with updating a new poem on the blog every Thursday as well.

Ingenuity
by Stephen Recker

I saw a girl come to class
with a roll of toilet paper
and for a moment
wondered if the rolls
provided in the bathroom
weren’t good enough
for her.

Then I saw her sneeze.

It reminded me of a time
in winter when the cold grew
and my ears would burn
walking from class
to class.  So I wrapped
a towel around my head
and tied it on with the scarf
my mom knitted me
the previous Christmas.

My ears stopped burning.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “My Poetry – Ingenuity

  1. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Tackling teenage pregnancy « Write on the World

Leave a Reply

